Love is in the Air: Project Run and Play Week 4

Happy Valentine’s Day – inspiration at least!!! Although the holiday is a few weeks away still, it’s That Time on Project Run and Play. So without further delay… my Chocolate Covered Cherry!

January 2013 101

We caught a spot of sunshine between the storms and ran outside to catch a few photos…

January 2013 095

My color inspiration was a box of chocolate covered cherries – by far the best confection ever created. Mmm… those say love to me ๐Ÿ™‚ My design inspiration… well… I’ve been dying to sew a tutu for my daughter. No better excuse!

January 2013 151

The tutu directions from from Oliver + S Little Things to Sew. You can find more details about the color layering etc on my post last week. And let me be brutally honest… this is *not* the original outfit I’d designed. I’d planned to make a shirt and shorts to coordinate with the tutu (which turned out EXACTLY as I’d hoped). First I had pink jersey. Then I tea dyed some old shirts of my husband’s, from which I cut 2 different shirts, neither of which worked. I was cranky and sad and out of ideas. Then I saw the clearance rack at Wal-mart… yes. This lacy cream top of perfection was $4 and absolutely no headaches at a big box store. Oh well.

January 2013 157

My daughter is in a necklace mood lately, so I was glad to come up with something sweet to really pull the outfit together. First, I braided 2 scrap strips of the chocolate tulle and 1 strip of light pink together to make a cord. The tiny tutu is the ends from the cord with a couple scraps of the other colors tied in as well. Then fluffed! I think it’s both cute and unique.

January 2013 138

January 2013 139

 

And the “in the air” part? Miss Toddler has learned how to jump! I love the way the tutu flies when she does. She certainly was enjoying herself!

Head on over to Project Run and Play to see the awesome entries coming in ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “Love is in the Air: Project Run and Play Week 4

  1. She is hardly on the ground. But, totally adorable. I too, have a thing for tutus. This chocolate cherry tutu is fun, and makes my mouth water ๐Ÿ™‚ that necklace is a terrific idea, and it looks toddler proof. Great Job Momma!
    with love
    -Jo

Leave a Reply

