What’s Mine is Yours (PR&P Upcycle challenge)

I live with a 2 year old. It has been months since I’ve had my own glass of water, or cookie, or bowl of popcorn, or pretty much anything else (at least while she’s awake!). Shoes taken off by the door are considered community property – I’m kind of impressed how well she can pull of my heels. And sitting down is seen as an invitation to share personal space. It was only logical to share one more thing: my clothes! (as an aside, some of this is an exaggeration. But teaching toddlers is a long process)

dress only

These two shirts migrated to my scrap bin a couple years ago. Most of the problem is the color – neons look awful on me. The blue graphic tee was an impulse buy; the green one was from a college club I felt the need to support. They’ve been waiting for a good purpose – the Upcycle Challenge for Project Run and Play! This dress was 100% free by using the 2 tees and a button from my stash. See how well I did using most of the fabric?!

shirts

The pattern is the Go – To Signature dress which for some reason I’ve been procrastinating making. Maybe it was the 20+ pages to trim and tape together. No matter – I did it now, and will be using this pattern like CRAZY! It’s really everything everyone says it is. I made a straight 4T with long sleeves, inseam pockets, and no waist elastic. I estimated the blue cap sleeves to best use the originals. I also added a keyhole at the neckline to compensate for using regular knit instead of ribbing. (I didn’t think until long after to trim the ribbing from the original green neckline). My strip was a little wide to lay nicely but that’s ok. I also need to switch the button loop – currently elastic thread – to something a little less stretchy.

keyhole

Did you notice the first picture? I’ve joined the garment-taped-to-the-wall photographers. It was a matter of necessity – Grace won an award for “Least Cooperative Model Ever” when we tried to shoot this yesterday at a nearby book store. But I actually kind of like it! I may try that again, especially since Miss is 2.5 and I thoroughly expect more awful photo shoots in our future. I’ll show you modeled pictures, but seriously… Least. Cooperative. Ever.

pockets

Nice big pockets. They’re cut from the lime green for contrast.

front

Yes, those shoes are definitely on the wrong feet. But they’re sparkly!tiled

And a collage of non-cooperation.

But let me tell you… she loves this dress, even if she wouldn’t pose in it. I made it a few weeks back and if it’s clean, she’s wearing it. In my book, a free dress which becomes an instant favorite is a complete win! I’ll be using the Go-To dress patter again this upcoming week for Kid’s Clothes Week, so come back each day if you’re curious what I’m creating. And don’t forget to see the other entries for the Upcyle Challenge at Project Run and Play!

Details

Dress: Go – To Signature Dress size 4T. Upcycled from 2 woman’s tees

Leggings and all accessories: Purchased

8 thoughts on “What’s Mine is Yours (PR&P Upcycle challenge)

  1. I love using old tees for my 2.5 year old too. And the signature dress is a favorite too. I have some signature dress plans for KCW as well πŸ™‚ Great job on the dress. And yes it’s pretty impossible to get 2 year olds to pose for pics. My girls has JUST (like in the last two weeks) decided that maybe one or two pics would be ok. I take that as a win haha.

  2. I know all about uncooperative models ;o) I’ve always got great outtake ;o) This dress is adorable! I want to make one now.. I love the pockets! I’m loving project Run and PLay! I also linked up this week, a recycled Sweater…Emily@nap-timecreations

Leave a Reply

