Me Made May 2014

me-made-may'14

Have you heard of this awesome community project? It’s Me Made May! The challenge is to actually wear the things you’ve made during the month of May. It isn’t a competition – just a personal challenge to sew things that get worn and wear things that get sewn (IE, find those holes in your wardrobe and fill them; and evaluate if you really need another fancy dress).

Last year I somewhat obsessively stalked some of the participants. This year I’m jumping in myself!

The official challenge is one homemade item per day. Due to the constraints of what I have in my wardrobe (I know I’m heavy on dresses and low on absolutely everything else), I’m adjusting the challenge slightly. Here’s my pledge:

‘I, Jenny at Gabi Sunshine, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavor to wear at least one handmade or altered item at least 5 days per week for the duration of May 2014’

That’s all it takes!

Want to find out more? This page explains all the “rules” and goals. You can find the Flickr community here.

There is a “rule” of no panic sewing for the purpose of the challenge, but I do plan on doing some for-me sewing this month. It was already on the schedule so I’m calling it good 🙂 Basic staples are a must have!

Leave a Reply

