Rainbows and Unicorns Travel Quilt

It seems like ever since Gracie learned to talk, she’s been asking me for a rainbow quilt. With unicorns. That covers her toes. She’s extremely specific! Thankfully, she considers anything with stripes of various colors to be a rainbow, so choosing the pattern was easy – the Travel Quilt from Little Things to Sew.

DSCN0470

Finding the just-right unicorns took much longer. Do you know how many ugly unicorn fabrics there are available? Lots. I finally found it though from Michael Miller – Magic Unicorns in the Sorbet color way. I pulled the colors for the front of the quilt from the novelty print. Matching colors isn’t my strongest point; I simply picked my favorite unicorns from the back and did stripes in those color pairs (with a couple exceptions to make my eyes happy).

DSCN0472

I love piecing quilt tops. I love the puzzle of making it all fit together; starting with tiny sections and building and building all the way to a completed top. I love the math involved. Piecing quilts definitely appeals to my inner nerd.

Quilting them, however, isn’t my favorite. I guess the repetition gets to me. Plus the bulk of working a giant quilt around the bed of my regular home machine is nothing if not awkward. That’s probably why I’ve only completed 3 quilts in my life. I have a double top down in my stash with its batting and back that may wait until I’m 60 to actually get quilted… if then. [Hey Mom, if you get that long arm frame I’ll keep you busy!] So I kept the quilting pretty simple – I traced the colored bars 1/4″ inside and outside, then filled the white sections with straight lines at a 45 degree angle to the colored bars, each 4″ apart. Simple and striking – the diagonal lines really make the bars pop.

DSCN0473

My only modification to the pattern was to skip the overlap section – instead of cutting a little piece, I simply cut the 2nd bar to match the 1st. Clear as mud? You can see it in the pictures better than I can explain it with words.

DSCN0471

This project is part of the Little Things to Sew Cover to Cover Challenge (Flickr pool). I didn’t get as far as I would like, but this quilt was my #1 Must Do. Since it’s done, and I probably never would have completed it without the challenge, I’m counting it as a success! I’ll probably do a couple more but it may not be by the Aug 31 deadline. Want to see my completed projects? The list is here.

One thought on “Rainbows and Unicorns Travel Quilt

  1. It’s fantastic. It fulfils the rainbow and unicorn-ness but still manages to be quite tasteful (incredible!). The diagonal quilting looks great, especially after you’d done the 1/4″ parallel lines. I’m with you on the bother of quilting with a regular sewing machine. I’d love a big upright loom to do one by hand once, just to say I did it.
    I’m glad I pushed you to finish something off!

Leave a Reply

