Summer Capsule Wardrobe: After the Purge

I’m sewing along with the Summer Capsule Wardrobe project hosted by Free Notion. This week I purged my closet. Then, I searched my pattern collection to start filling in the holes.

This has been a therapeutic experience: 2 garbage bags full of clothing removed from my life. Things that never fit or will never fit again, things that haven’t been worn in the past 2 years, things that I bought thinking they might work but didn’t, things that did work – 6 years ago – but are now well beyond the line of being acceptable. Since they weren’t being worn anyway, it was literally all trash taking up space in my closet and slowing me down trying to find the few pieces that do work.

So what am I left with? Not much, but what I do have is guaranteed to fit (mostly at least) and be worn on a regular basis. You know, the way clothing should be.

Tops

DSCN0811

3 short sleeve tee shirts, 1 3/4 sleeve tee shirt, 3 open front cardigans (1 short sleeve, 2 3/4), and one denim jacket. Clearly I will be making a bunch of tops for my wardrobe. The capsule wardrobe “recipe” suggests 15 tops and 2 jackets; I currently have 4 tops, 3 cardigans, 1 jacket. Of those four tops, the pink and white are made by me so I will be reusing those patterns (after I do a FBA, much needed now that I’m nursing Reid). This is my ideal sewing list; we will see what reality allows:

  • Jocole quick dress, extended sleeve (print)
  • Jocole quick dress, sleeveless (probably 2 – one neutral one print)
  • Jocole quick dress, top yoke version (neutral, with detailing)
  • PAB Santa fee tee (probably 2 – one neutral one print)
  • Liesl + Co Metro tee (neutral?)

Bottoms and Dresses

DSCN0812

I own 2 pairs of pants, and they’re both maternity. The only bottom currently missing is 1 navy blue maxi skirt – that’s a total of 3 bottoms when the recipe suggests 9. This is a dismal situation – the jeans don’t even really fit but I’m hanging on to them to avoid nudity. They will be rotated out as soon as replacements are available. I am already working on muslin to make Jocole skinny jeans. I also whipped up a Tie Dye Diva chocolate chip skirt that will be finished today, naptime willing. Here’s what I need:

  • Jocole skinnies, basic denim
  • Jocole skinnies, cropped gray twill
  • Jocole skinnies, shorts dark denim
  • TDD chocolate chip skirt, dark chambray (already sewn, waiting for elastic)
  • TDD chocolate chip skirt, print
  • Jocole crossover dress, something acceptable to wear to multiple weddings and church

Shoes and Scarves

DSCN0813

5 pairs of shoes: flip flops, black flats, white and denim flats, sneakers. Plus two light weight scarves that I wear year round. The black flats are due to be replaced and I could really use a pair of heels and some decent sandals for when flip flops don’t cut it. The capsule “recipe” recommends 9 pairs – this is my closest category!

And that’s it! Well, not counting a random assortment of pajamas, camisoles (I wear them under everything and go through a couple a day – thank you nursing a sloppy baby!), and gym clothes. I wear those at home or working out only; I have a thing against gym clothes in public. I also have one small box in the closet with winter clothes – my favorite boots and a lot of dark clothing. It will be interesting to see if I even pull it out, especially as we are relocating to Florida before next winter.

Clearly I have an awful lot of work laid out in front of me – 12 garments currently listed above, and that’s still far below the “recipe”. The realities of time and finances may dictate a Target run to fill in some of the worst gaps. I can envision my ideal capsule wardrobe – realistically I will have to build as I go, piece by piece and season by season. But now that all my old clothes have left the house, I’m committed! Let the sewing begin!

4 thoughts on “Summer Capsule Wardrobe: After the Purge

    • Paris, if you’re still around on facebook we have a group going; I can add you. People are posting lots of tutorials and help for fitting things. I agree though – I have a stack of home made awful fitting clothes. I’m going to do it right this time. I learned how to do a full bust adjustment last night!

Leave a Reply

