Back to the Classics Challenge

I stumbled across this challenge in a homeschool forum I’m a part of and just can’t not participate! The challenge? Read 12 classic books in 12 separate categories within 2016. That’s one a month – totally doable, right? Even though we have a cross country move in process and a daily-more-mobile baby in the house? LOL. Well, it’s definitely called a challenge for a reason! Read the original post here:

http://karensbooksandchocolate.blogspot.com/2015/12/back-to-classics-2016.html

I’m excited to try this! I always need a book on hand, otherwise I just end up surfing Pinterest. For this challenge, I’m limiting myself to 1) Books I own or 2) Books attainable at a reasonable library. I’m on an absolute hold on purchasing more books due to the move. I’m also giving myself freedom to swap and switch as I please and have no set reading order. Life’s too unpredictable for that!

With that in mind, here’s my current, for today, until I change it reading list:

  1.  A 19th Century Classic – any book published between 1800 and 1899. Something Mark Twain
  2. A 20th Century Classic – any book published between 1900 and 1966. Just like last year, all books MUST have been published at least 50 years ago to qualify. The only exception is books written at least 50 years ago, but published later. The Wind in the Willows
  3. A classic by a woman author. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Betty Smith
  4.  A classic in translation.Le Petit Prince, Antione de Saint-Exupery
  5. A classic by a non-white author. Can be African-American, Asian, Latino, Native American, etc. Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe
  6. An adventure classic – can be fiction or non-fiction. Treasure Island, Robert Lewis Stevenson
  7. A fantasy, science fiction, or dystopian classic. Dystopian could include classics like Animal Farm or 1984. The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe, CS Lewis
  8.  A classic detective novel. It must include a detective, amateur or professional. This list of books from the Golden Age of Detective Fiction is a great starting point if you’re looking for ideas. Murder on the Orient Express, Agatha Christie
  9.  A classic which includes the name of a place in the title.  It can be the name of a house, a town, a street, etc. Examples include Bleak House, Main Street, The Belly of Paris, or The Vicar of Wakefield. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
  10. A classic which has been banned or censored. If possible, please mention why this book was banned or censored in your review. The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck 
  11. Re-read a classic you read in school (high school or college).  If it’s a book you loved, does it stand the test of time?  If it’s a book you disliked, is it any better a second time around? Great Expectations, Charles Dickens. I more skimmed than read in 9th grade English Lit and it is time to remedy that failure.
  12. A volume of classic short stories. This must be one complete volume, at least 8 short stories. Children’s stories are acceptable in this category only. Something Edgar Allen Poe, I have a few

There are some serious books in this stack! I hope I can accomplish some of it; there are “mini goals” at 6 books and 9 books as well as all 12. I’m going to start boldly and see how far I get. I’ll be adding book reviews as I go – another part of the challenge.

5 thoughts on “Back to the Classics Challenge

  1. For #5: There’s Things Fall Apart by Cinua Achebe, which I think is 1958. I’ve heard some positive feedback about it. It’s not very long either. Someone else is reading Up From Slavery by Booker T. Washington (very good); and there is also Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl by Harriet Jacobs. That one is my favorite of the slave narratives. Just some ideas.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

