Reading Round-Up January 2017

dscn5620

I did not get as much reading done as I’d hoped this month – I’m starting the year off behind on my challenges! (My reading goals post). But some reading is better than no reading, and I’ve had many excellent thoughts and connections in the few pages I have gotten read.

Completed:

Parenting, Paul David Tripp (Christian Reading Challenge: book on Christian living)

This is a very convicting book on the philosophy of parenting. It isn’t a how-to book, it’s a why-to, building awareness of the Gospel in every aspect of parenting. The main theme is that we are God’s ambassadors to our children and as we parent them, God parents us. The best parent is the one who realizes how unable she is on her own power. I highly, highly recommend it.

This thought from page 121 sums the whole book up very well:

No parent gives grace more joyfully and consistently than the parent who daily confesses that she desperately needs it herself. God calls rebels to his authority to rescue rebels against his authority. Only powerful grace can make that happen.

dscn5622

 

In Process:

The Mysteries of Udolpho, Ann Radcliffe  – this 700 page Gothic novel may actually take me forever. At least I’ll be in raptures to the sublime as I press on, ha!

Be Right, Weirsbe – I’m intentionally taking this one slowly, reading the section each week that goes along with my Bible reading plan for the year.

 

Year To Date:

Back to the Classics: 0/12

Christian Reading Challenge: 1/13

Leave a Reply

