Coco Cay Tankini

Summer’s coming! We’ll be taking Gracie to the beach pretty soon. Which of COURSE calls for a new swimsuit! Mainly because all the ones from last year are way tiny. But also because this child has a very… ah… specific sense of style. If it isn’t neon she isn’t interested. Thank goodness I picked up a swimsuit pattern during all the Thanksgiving sales a few months back! Introducing my first Coco Cay Tankini from Peekaboo Pattern Shop:

title

So, inside on this windy gray day, we’re celebrating a little sunshine.

front

As usual with Peekaboo Patterns, this stitched up a dream. Well, a dream considering I’m working with completely foreign-to-me materials and techniques. I’m still getting over my fear of regular knits. 4 way athletic knit? It’s crazy. The suit is far from perfect but I learned a LOT and have no doubt the next one will look very professional, and it’s very wearable. If you can’t tell, the part I need more practice on is getting the elastic evenly stretched. I’ve got super tight spots and super loose spots. I’m calling it a win though because she’s covered and comfortable. Oh and the applique is crooked since Grace wouldn’t decide what she wanted until AFTER the whole top was assembled. Next time I’ll do that very first. But she doesn’t care at all:

side

She’s a natural model. LOL. I pull out the camera and it’s just pose after pose after pose.

book

Ready to play in the waves! I’ll definitely be making at least one more of these to get through summer. We’ve graduated to a 2 piece due to potty training – she has a habit of waiting until the last. possible. minute. and I really don’t want to deal with a one piece in that situation. Actually, I hate one pieces in general. I really think a well fitted, long enough tankini is more modest that a one piece any day. Speaking of long enough, that was my only pattern edit – I extended the bottoms up a half inch and the top down about 3/4″. Otherwise it’s a straight 3t. I’ll probably do the top yet a little longer next time but the bottoms are perfect.

juggling bag

Oh, I also got one more project off my list for the Cover-to-Cover Little Things to Sew challenge! That makes 4 so far… I’m super behind but have plans for many of them. This is the juggling bag. Well, mostly – I used the directions and the shapes, but the size is free handed based on the size I needed. The top half is scrap swimsuit fabric; the bottom is mesh swimsuit lining. It’s just right to throw a swimsuit and towel in. And it matches! Which is all that matters to Grace! Here’s my challenge post in case you want to know more about the challenge, see my completed projects, and maybe even jump in too!

Details

Pattern: Coco Cay Colorblock Tankini

Fabric: Athletic 4-way stretch knit from Joann’s

Bag: Little Things to Sew book by Liesl Gibson, scrap fabric

7 thoughts on “Coco Cay Tankini

  1. Great job knocking out another of the little things projects. I love that book.
    I really like that you added height to the pieces of the tankini. I have suits to make for summer too and I’ll have go remember to do that!

  2. Great job! Your daughter looks like a completely satisfied customer. I’ve gotten pretty comfortable with knits now so maybe I should take the leap into swimwear too.

  3. That tankini is great! I am impressed with anyone who sews swimwear… But I think I just got a bit encouraged by your saying about sewing knits – I am comfortable with knits, so… maybe I’ll give a try soon… šŸ™‚

  4. Love the idea of a tankini. So intimidated by swimsuit sewing. Great work. I’d love to see you join us this week at the Inspire Us Thursdays! link party.

Leave a comment